Skip to Main Content

The Color Purple

Category: Event Calendar

Date and Time

Location

visit website

Details

New Village Arts presents THE COLOR PURPLE
Based on the novel by Alice Walker
Book by Marsha Norman
Music & Lyrics by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis, and Stephen Bray

Directed by Kandace Crystal
Musical Direction by Leigh Scarritt
Choreography by Alyssa “Ajay” Junious

Previews: June 14-21, 2024
Opening Night: June 22, 2024
Runs: June 14 - July 21, 2024
Tickets start at $30!

Adapted from Alice Walker's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel, THE COLOR PURPLE chronicles the inspiring journey of Celie, a remarkable woman who discovers her inner strength and voice amidst a lifetime of adversity. Set against the backdrop of 40 years, THE COLOR PURPLE follows Celie's evolution from a downtrodden young woman to a beacon of hope and empowerment. Featuring a vibrant score infused with jazz, ragtime, gospel, African music, and blues, this musical celebration is a testament to the human spirit and the healing power of love.

As we embark on this profound journey with THE COLOR PURPLE, we extend a heartfelt invitation to join us in amplifying the powerful message of Black voices, resilience, love, and empowerment that resonates within this iconic production. Let us unite in celebration of the human spirit and the enduring legacy of THE COLOR PURPLE - the musical about LOVE.

Performance Schedule as follows:
Select Wednesdays at 2pm
Thursdays at 7:30pm
Fridays at 7:30pm
Saturdays at 2pm & 7:30pm
Sundays at 2pm

Friday, June 14 at 7:30pm
Saturday, June 15 at 7:30pm
Sunday, June 16 at 2:00pm

Thursday, June 20 at 7:30pm
Friday, June 21 at 7:30pm
Saturday, June 22 at 7:30pm (Opening Night)
Sunday, June 23 at 2:00pm

Wednesday, June 26 at 2:00pm
Thursday, June 27 at 7:30pm
Friday, June 28 at 7:30pm
Saturday, June 29 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm
Sunday, June 30 at 2:00pm

Wednesday, July 3rd at 2:00pm
No performance on July 4, 2024
Friday, July 5 at 7:30pm
Saturday, July 6 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm
Sunday, July 7 at 2:00pm

Wednesday, July 10 at 2:00pm
Thursday, July 11 at 7:30pm
Friday, July 12 at 7:30pm
Saturday, July 13 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm
Sunday, July 14 at 2:00pm

Wednesday, July 17 at 2:00pm
Thursday, July 18 at 7:30pm
Friday, July 19 at 7:30pm
Saturday, July 20 at 2:00pm & 7:30pm
Sunday, July 21 at 2:00pm (Closing Performance)